The lock screen command will mute and disable all Chrome windows on your student's device. The command is designed to unlock at the end of the session, but if a student joins a new session before the first session ends, they will remain locked until another teacher issues an unlock command.
To lock student's screen:
- Select one or more students using the checkbox to the left of each student's name
- Once students are selected, the command bar will appear at the top of the screen
- Click the Lock Screen
- Enter a custom message to be displayed on the lock screen
- Click Lock Screen
Lock an Individual Student's Screen from their Tile
Another way to lock an individual student's screen is by clicking on the three vertical dot menu in the top right corner of that student's screen and selecting "Lock student's device."
The Lock Screen and Unlock Screen command can be issued by any teacher, so if a student joins your session in a "browsing disabled" state, they can be quickly unlocked by selecting issuing the unlock screen command.
Note: The lock screen command will only disable Chrome browser windows. 3rd party apps that run outside of Chrome windows may not be affected by the command.