Responding to Notifications
When Beacon detects that a student is browsing content related to Self-Harm or Suicide, a notification will be sent to users in order of the Escalation List up to five times or until an action is taken on the alert card.
An email containing a direct link to the alert will be sent from email@example.com.
1. Click the "login" link in the email to access the alert.
Click the embedded link in your Alert Notification email to be taken to the Beacon sign-in page. Once you've signed in, the Dashboard will display your most recent alert.
Note: Unread alerts will appear with a dark outline (shown below).
2. Review Alert Content
Scroll down to the "Rationale" tab and click the screenshot that is listed as "Source of the Alert." An enlarged view of the screenshot will appear.
View the screenshot capture of the student activity
** IMPORTANT TIP: Be sure to skim the "Words on the Page" in case the screenshot is ambiguous. The text allows users to verify whether there was troubling content not visible in the screenshot.
3. Resolve the alert
There are two ways to resolve an alert and halt the escalation and notification process:
Option 1: Toggle on any Action Taken.
Option 2: Select a Risk Level from the drop-down menu.
(Optional): You can verify the accuracy of the alert by hovering over the gray exclamation mark next to the phase. This will not resolve the alert, but it will help us train the Beacon AI to make more accurate predictions.
Taking either of these actions above will mark the alert as resolved.
If one of these actions is not completed within the set Interval Time, the next user on the Escalation List will be notified. This process will continue for five times or until a user checks off an action or sets a Risk Level.
Verifying the phase prediction
Once an appropriate action has been dispatched, verify Beacon's Predicted Phase by clicking the listed Predicted Phase and selecting Yes or No. Your feedback will help train and improve Beacon's prediction AI model and can be updated at any time.
Dismissing an Alert
For safety purposes, alerts cannot currently be deleted or removed from Beacon. However, in the event that a student's behavior is miscategorized by Beacon, an alert can be marked as such.
For miscategorized alerts:
- Set the Risk Level to "No Risk".
- Click the Predicted Phase and select No (if inaccurate).
Note: Marking an alert as No Risk will also end the Escalation List cycle.
When Beacon detects that a student is browsing self-harm related content, a notification will be sent to the first user on the Escalation List. If text message notifications are enabled, a text message notification and an email notification will be sent.
Text message notifications will contain a message about the Predicted Phase of the behavior (in bold below) and a sign-in link.
An SMS/Text Message containing a direct link to the alert will be sent from 381-21.