Introducing Lecture / Presentation mode, which allows teachers to present their screen to students in a classroom session! This article explains how each aspect of the feature works.
1. Setting up Presentation
- Navigate to the Call Students tab during an active classroom session.
- Select the Start Lecture option on the far right.
Note: Presentation/lecture mode sessions are limited to 8 hours.
If your organization does not have Video Conferencing, you will see a "Present to Class" tab instead of "Call Students." Click on this tab to set up your presentation.
2. Enable Camera
- Toggle the setting next to "Enable Camera" to set it to "On."
- If this is your first time using the feature, a popup will ask you if GoGuardian can access your camera. Click "Allow."
- Check the preview box on the right to make sure you can see your webcam (if you have a cover over your webcam, make sure to remove it).
3. Enable Microphone
- Toggle the setting next to "Enable Microphone" to set it to "On."
- If this is your first time using the feature, a popup will ask you if GoGuardian can access your microphone, click “Allow.”
- Select the microphone that you would like to use from the dropdown (if there is more than one option).
4. Present Your Screen
"Present your screen" will allow you to show what you are working on in your desktop to your students on their devices.
5. Lock Students to Presentation
Locking your students to the presentation will stop students from being allowed to navigate away from the tab you present on.
6. Select Your Audience
- Click "Select students to present to" at the bottom of the screen, which will open a pop-up. In the pop-up, check off the boxes to the left of each student that you would like to present to. If you would like to present to the whole class, check off the box next to "Select All."
NOTE: A maximum of 50 students can be selected per presentation. Co-teachers cannot join presentations at this time.
- If you are not presenting any part of your screen, click "Start presenting" to start presenting your video and/or audio to your students.
- If you had selected "Present your screen," click "Choose what to present" to choose what part of your computer screen you want to share with your class.
- After selecting "Share," a new tab will open on the students' devices, which will momentarily display the following message before your screen share begins.
- Below is what the student's perspective looks like during a live presentation (while the teacher is sharing a Chrome tab):
Options for Sharing Your Screen
1. Entire Screen
This will share the entirety of your computer screen to the selected students in your class
2. Specific Windows
This will show one application window to your students. This means you can have many applications open, even multiple Google Chrome windows, but still share just a single window.
3. Specific Chrome Tab
This will allow you to select a specific tab from the browser that you currently have open.
Record the Presentation
Note: The recording feature is only available for organizations with the Video Conferencing add-on.
- To record the presentation, select Start Recording in the menu at the bottom of the Presentation Settings tab during an active presentation
- To stop recording, click the Stop Recording (in the location where the Start Recording button previously was) at any time during the presentation
- Once the recording is stopped, you will be prompted to give the recording a title and then save the recording. Alternatively, you can delete the recording at this point. A link will appear in this pop-up which can be shared with students so they can access the recording at a later time.
Access Presentation Recordings
- Recorded calls can be found in the Recordings tab of the classroom. You can copy link recordings to share them, as well as play, download, or delete the recordings.
1. Allowing Use of Camera and Microphone if you select "Block"
- Google Chrome: If you accidentally select "Block" when the popup initially came up, you will select the lock icon in the upper-left portion of your browser (next to the Refresh button) to change the setting from "Block" to "Allow."
- Safari: If you need to change your permissions in Safari, please click on the Safari tab in the top left banner on your screen. Then select Settings for this website. This will open a preferences page that will allow you to change the permissions from "Block" to "Allow."
- Microsoft Edge: If you accidentally select "Block" when the popup initially came up, you will select the lock icon in the upper-left portion of your browser and select Site Permissions. From there, you will be able to change the camera and microphone settings from "Block" to "Allow."
- Firefox: To change your permissions in Firefox, select the icon in the upper-left corner. You will then select the "X" next to "Blocked" to clear those settings. This will cause the prompt to reappear when you turn on the camera or microphone toggles again.
2. Confirming that You are Ready to Start Presenting
Be sure to select the "Share" button in the bottom blue banner before heading back to the students' screens. Once this feature has been initiated, the banner will turn red with details of what is being shared.
3. Stop Presenting
To end the presentation, you can click the Stop Presenting button in the red banner at the bottom of the page. This will turn off your camera, microphone, or any other settings you had toggled on.
4. Presenting to Windows Devices
If you use the "Lock students to presentation" feature for a Windows device, this will lock only the browser to the presentation. Students will be able to access the desktop and outside apps while being locked on the presentation in their browser.
5. Roster Maximums
Classrooms with a roster size of over 50 students will not be able to use the Lecture / Presentation mode. Please keep your classroom sizes under 50 to actively share your screen with students. You can break up your large classrooms into two separate sessions that run simultaneously and share your screen in both classrooms.