Scenes have taken on a new look and a few new features that create a more intuitive and robust filtering experience. Let's take a look at the new changes to Scenes.
Block Mode and Allow Mode scenes are now Allow List and Block List scenes respectively. The Allow List will appear as a 'Curious Blue' color whereas the Block List will have a 'Niagara' color. All old scenes will default to these same color conventions if no color was previously chosen for them.
Any Scenes that were originally set to Block Mode have been converted to reflect the new look and category renamed to Allowed Websites List. This assumes that your Scene was intended to block anything that is not on your list. You can add URLs to this list to allow access to those specific sites. Anything not on your Allow List will remain blocked when this Scene is applied.
All Scenes that were originally set to Allow Mode will now appear as a Blocked Websites List. This assumes that your Scene was intended to allow access to any sites not in your list of sites to block. You can add URLs to this list to block access to those specific sites. Anything not on your Block List will remain allowed when these Scenes are applied.
Scenes can now also be edited, renamed, duplicated, or deleted by clicking the Settings button to the right of the respective Allowed or Blocked Websites List that you would like to adjust settings for.
Applying a Scene
The process of applying a Scene remains unchanged. If you are manually choosing the Scene to be applied before starting your session, click the Classrooms tab in the panel on the right and select the classroom to apply your Scene to. All Scenes (whether Allowed Website Lists or Blocked Website Lists) will appear in the dropdown menu.
You can now also sort your scene in any of the following orders:
- Recently Used (default) - The most recent scene that was manually applied to a session.
- Last Modified - Applies to the last scene to have any of the following changes:
- URLs added/deleted
- Auto-Open tab changes
- Max tab limit changes
Note: Changes made to a District Quick List will NOT qualify as ‘modified’, even if the changes impact a scene (Only Super Users can make changes to a District Quick List).
If you would like to see how to create a new Scene in greater detail, click here.