What is GoGuardian Parent?
GoGuardian Parent is an application available on devices running iOS and Android designed to enable IT Administrators to share managed user history collected via GoGuardian Admin and GoGuardian Teacher with verified parents and guardians.
GoGuardian Parent provides Parents and Guardians with the ability to pause their children's internet, block specific websites, and schedule internet availability on managed devices. These features have no guaranteed functionality on personally owned, unmanaged student devices.
For more information on the GoGuardian Parent App, please read this article.
Note: GoGuardian Parent is currently compatible with iOS versions equal to or newer than iOS 8 and Android version equal to or newer than Android Jelly Bean, v16, 4.1.x.
What are the features of the Parent App?
The GoGuardian Parent App contains several features which will help parents and Guardians. These features are accessible in the app by choosing the different options on the bottom of the screen.
These features include:
- Time Limits
The summary section provides an at-a-glance, easy to digest overview of what your student has been doing. First, you must choose the student you'd like to view, and the timeframe for the information that you'd like to gather. You have four time frame choices:
- Last Day
- Last 7 Days
- Last 4 Days
- Last 30 Days
The Summary section will then provide several charts for you to view. These include the following:
The Top 5 Websites visited:
The Top 5 Documents viewed:
The Top 5 Apps & Extensions used:
The Top 5 Videos viewed:
The Summary section also provides information on Teacher Interventions for your student. This section will show how many times a teacher locked or unlocked your student's screen, or opened and closed tabs for them.
The Activity section will simply provide a list showing which sites your student has tried to access each day. If the site was blocked, it will say so just beneath the URL. If the site was accessed, it will show how long your student stayed on that site.
The Filters section will allow you to block websites that you do not want your student to reach. It is important to remember that your students will still be blocked by the school's filtering policies during out of school hours. This means that it is likely they'll already be blocked from inappropriate sites. Additionally, the GoGuardian Parent App will not enable a Guardian to allow a site which is blocked by the school.
If you have no filters set, you'll see this screen:
Simply click Add Website to begin adding a site you wish to block.
Enter a URL you'd like to block, such as instagram.com, and click Create.
Once a site is added to a blocked list, the student will no longer be able to access it. If you want to remove a blocked site, swipe left on it with your finger.
Pausing and Resuming Internet
The Time Limits section allows for immediate Pausing and Resuming of internet to your student. You can pause for various increments of time, from 15 minutes to the rest of the day. You can resume at any time.
When you choose Pause, you'll need to choose your time increment.
Once it is paused, it will display the remaining duration of the pause, and allow you to resume internet at any time by choosing the button.
Setting an Offline Schedule
You may also set a schedule for when the internet will be off for your student. The bottom of the Time Limits section will have an option to Add Schedule:
When you choose to Add Schedule, please remember that the internet will be off for the time range selected. Select the days you'd like to add a time frame for, and hit create:
From the image above, the internet will be blocked Monday - Thursday from 9 PM to midnight. Once created, you'll see your offline schedule in the Time Limits section.
Here is an example schedule which would turn off the internet for your student from 9PM until 6AM the next day:
Settings is the final section of the GoGuardian Parent App. This allows you to learn more about the Parent App, review the terms and conditions, and provide feedback. You may also sign out of the application in the Settings section.